Board of Directors

KangoMedia Art - Rio Grande Chapeno - Larry DittoOur Board of Directors is governed by a set of Bylaws, updated as necessary, and by Partnership Agreements with U.S. Fish & Wildlife staff assigned to manage the Santa Ana and Lower Rio Grande Valley National Wildlife Refuges. The Board includes at least 9 and no more than 16 members who volunteer their time, talents, and energy to the support of our Refuges.

Board Directors have two-year terms that expire in January. Each January the Board conducts an Annual Meeting to elect new Directors, who are nominated by existing Directors. Potential Board members are selected to represent the geographical, cultural, professional, and interest-based communities of the Rio Grande Valley. Board Directors recruit new Directors from community members interested in serving on our Board. Selections are made based on expertise needed on the Board. The Board votes on candidates based on their fit as reflected in their resumes.

Board officers serve one-year terms and include a president, vice-president, secretary, and treasurer. The Board meets once a month to conduct business and oversee the activities of Board committees, which meet as frequently as needed.

Vacancies on the Board of Directors or Board officers are filled by the Board for the unexpired term of office.


President – Jim Chapman 
Interim Vice President – Mary Tamez
Interim Secretary – Victoria Guerra
Treasurer – Rolando L. Garcia


Patrick Anderson                                                            
Lois Hughes                                                                        Scott Nicol                                                                            Jorge Palacios
Betty Perez
Kelly Smith

You can contact members of the Board by name: 

3325 Green Jay Road
Alamo, TX  78516

(956) 784-7502

[email protected]